Frederick Fisher and Partners Frederick Fisher and Partners

Studio

Frederick Fisher and Partners (FF&P) has committed its practice to enhancing the passion and energy of communities and organizations of all types around the globe. Our studio is inspired by a wide aesthetic character range influenced by historical and cultural references, local context, projected use and integrated technology. Known for cultivating and enriching living, learning, cultural and working spaces in public and private atmospheres, FF&P’s projects are diverse while sharing a common approach of connecting people to their environments and to each other.

Our LA and NYC studios are led by seven partners who stay directly involved in the daily nuances of the firm, and are vital to developing project strategy and team organization. The partners, along with handpicked designers, architects, and project managers, represent the future of FF&P as a firm that fully understands and appreciates each team member. Our entire firm contributes to an ongoing shared dialog about new ways of living, learning, working, and experiencing art and culture. For the latest news and dialog, take a look at our blog: Inside Outside.

Asking questions is at the heart of our practice. Here, we ask ourselves the essentials…

Where does FF&P work?
When was FF&P founded?
What is FF&P's design philosophy?
What inspires FF&P's work?
Who works at FF&P?
What's essential to FF&P's architectural process?
Some of FF&P's favorite materials?
What is the hallmark of FF&P's architecture?
What's next for FF&P?

Resilience

We at FF&P are doing our part to keep our planet—and its inhabitants—in balance by integrating a sense of environmental stewardship into every project we take on. We subscribe to the notion of resilience: we must continuously evolve our design thinking and building strategies to allow for learning and adaptation. A common saying around the office describes it best- “Long life, loose fit.” Our team is well-versed in the LEED, WELL, and Living Building Challenge certification standards, and our portfolio includes many projects that have achieved these.
That said, we are constantly researching innovative sustainable systems, technologies, and practices. Moreover, we like to take a holistic perspective that favors common sense and economy, healthy and happy living, restoring what we consume, and flexibility. Rather than adhering to prescriptive criteria, we work with our clients to identify each project’s present and future opportunities to serve as a nurturing and equitable place that people want to, and can, occupy in changing ways over the long term.

Partners

Our leaders are critical to setting the tone of FF&P’s ethos and spirit. They are responsible for ensuring that each project we design has a thoughtful, cohesive, and enduring vision.

Frederick Fisher

Frederick Fisher

Driven by his innate intellectual curiosity and broad social and cultural perspective, Frederick Fisher, FAIA FAAR approaches architecture as a collaborative process. Fred gained stature in the art and academic worlds by designing exceptional spaces for the practice and exhibition of art, as well as for interdisciplinary study. Recognition of his legacy of design excellence is reflected in his receipt of the 2013 Gold Medal by the Los Angeles Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. He is a Fellow of the American Academy in Rome, where he combined his passions for art and architecture in the exploration of museum meaning and design. A registered architect since 1978, Fred received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Art and Art History from Oberlin College and his Master of Architecture from UCLA. He was Chairman of the Environmental Design Department at Otis College of Art &, and is Chairman of the Board of Governors. He is also a Board Member for the Board of Councilors at USC School of Architecture, the Board of Visitors at the UCLA School of the Arts, the Ojai Music Festival, and Lawrence University. As Founding Partner, Fred directs a practice that prides itself on architecture that is responsive, realistic, responsible, and revelatory. “If you make something that brings people pleasure and fulfillment,” he says, “then you’ve done your job as an architect.”

David Ross

David Ross

As Design Manager, David Ross offers over 30 years of experience as one of FF&P’s leading design visionaries. The longstanding leader of our residential practice, David imbues all his design with a strong sense of domesticity and humanism. In addition to his work on projects of all sizes in the residential, academic, and workspace realms, David has led FF&P’s ongoing efforts in exhibition design at some of Southern California’s premiere cultural institutions, including LACMA, the Getty Museum, and the Skirball Cultural Center. He received his Bachelor of Architecture from SCI-Arc.

Joseph Coriaty

Joseph Coriaty

Joseph Coriaty, FAIA is a vibrant and passionate champion of architecture as a process of making. After nearly three decades with FF&P, Joe maintains a strict adherence to clients’ budget and schedule expectations. He has a lightning-quick ability to distill and articulate big ideas, yet is keenly sensitive to the intricacies of design and construction. As Managing Partner, he takes a personal interest in making sure that our projects are as practical and efficient as they are beautiful and engaging. Joe received his Bachelor of Science and Architecture from the University of Detroit and his Master of Architecture from USC.

Takashige Ikawa

Takashige Ikawa

A native of Japan and a graduate of SCI-Arc, Takashige Ikawa is both precise and poetic. Perhaps due to his early training as a photographer, he sees architecture as a series of emotional moments to be connected through space and time. Whether designing a house, an exhibition, or a large creative workspace, Taka immerses himself in context and the spirit of a place. The results are diverse, but consistently thoughtful and thought-through.

Matthew Kelley

Matthew Kelley

Matthew Kelley, AIA is as visionary as he is pragmatic. A careful observer, Matt has been able to absorb and influence FF&P’s design ethos in equal measure. His versatility has propelled him into a leading role in designing some of our signature institutional and commercial projects, from their guiding ideas to their complex construction details. Matt obtained his Bachelor of Arts from Brown University, and got his Masters in Architecture from SCI-Arc.

Marisa Kurtzman

Marisa Kurtzman

Marisa Kurtzman, RA, LEED AP brings energy and focus to spearheading FF&P’s visioning, programming, and planning work. A linguist and a “people person,” she loves finding out what makes institutions and organizations tick, and then translating those values and goals into design concepts that are distinctly expressive of their identities. Marisa received her Bachelor of Arts from Wesleyan University, and her Master of Architecture from Yale.

Nathan Prevendar

Nathan Prevendar

Methodical but easygoing, Nathan Prevendar is a nimble manager of the entire design and construction process. Nathan cares deeply about his clients and teams, and is known for accessibility and responsiveness. His empathic yet objective approach to architectural practice has enabled him to lead all types and scales of FF&P projects, from large academic buildings to houses. Nathan obtained his Bachelor of Architecture from USC and his Master of Science in Architectural Studies from MIT.

Team

FF&P’s pulse comes from our talented team members, each of whom brings a unique perspective, know-how, creativity, curiosity, and enthusiasm to work every single day. We like each other, we like the work we do, and we are committed to making a positive impact on the broader community.

Partners

David Ross AIA

davidr@fisherpartners.net

Frederick Fisher FAAR, AIA

fred@fisherpartners.net

Joseph Coriaty FAIA

joec@fisherpartners.net

Marisa Kurtzman RA, LEED AP

marisak@fisherpartners.net

Matthew Kelley AIA, LEED AP

mattk@fisherpartners.net

Nathan Prevendar Associate AIA

nathanp@fisherpartners.net

Takashige Ikawa

takai@fisherpartners.net
Senior Associates

Brent Eckerman AIA

brente@fisherpartners.net

Hector Semidey

hectors@fisherpartners.net

John Berley Associate AIA

johnb@fisherpartners.net

Mariam Mojdehi AIA, LEED AP

mariamm@fisherpartners.net

Ron Benson AIA, LEED AP

ronb@fisherpartners.net

Selena Linkous RA

selenal@fisherpartners.net

Trevor Behner AIA, LEED AP

trevorb@fisherpartners.net
Associates

Christina Kwak AIA

ChristinaK@fisherpartners.net
Team Members

Asli Tusavul

aslit@fisherpartners.net

Christian Menna

christianm@fisherpartners.net

David Manzano LEED AP

davidm@fisherpartners.net

Giancarlo Montano

giancarlom@fisherpartners.net

Jake Lazere

jakel@fisherpartners.net

Jennifer Gilman

jenniferg@fisherpartners.net

Jianlan Zhao

jianlanz@fisherpartners.net

Kristine Edinchikyan Associate AIA

kristinee@fisherpartners.net

Louis Weiss

louisw@fisherpartners.net

Nora Leon

noral@fisherpartners.net

Patrick Ruggiero, Jr. RA

patrickr@fisherpartners.net

Samantha Leach AIA

samanthal@fisherpartners.net

Tania Sew Hoy RA, LEED AP

taniash@fisherpartners.net

William Vincent

williamv@fisherpartners.net
Administrative Team

Jane Rabadi, Sr. Graphic Designer and Marketing Coordinator

janer@fisherpartners.net

Larisa Forester CPSM, Assoc. AIA, Marketing & Business Development Manager

larisaf@fisherpartners.net

Michelangelo Sese, Accountant

michelangelos@fisherpartners.net

Summer Stuckey, Executive Assistant

summers@fisherpartners.net

Tony Buckli, Director of Operations

tonyb@fisherpartners.net